My Betta Is Sick. HELP!

Sep 8, 2010
I bought a male betta fish three months ago, and he was healthy up until last week. He started becoming lethargic, either lying at the bottom of his tank or suspending himself vertically in the water. My fish started eating less until he stopped eating altogether for a day or so. I also noticed that he was breathing through his mouth. I tried changing the water twice, but I might have made the situation worse because of the fluctuation in water temperature.

I have fed him pellets and peas sparingly for the past two days, and I have noticed a little more activity. However, there seems to be very little feces in his tank. Is it possible that he has swim bladder or constipation? Or is it a parasite? I can't seem to tell. If it is a parasite, I would like to get him medication, but I don't know what kind would be best.

I am completely new to the fish world, and do not know what to do. Please help!

Newman

Elite Fish
Sep 22, 2009
Northern NJ
research how to change water correctly, and read some guides on betta keeping online. also read up on cycling an aquarium and what happens during a cycle. if you answer laura's questions, we can help you narrow down the issues with your new betta fish.
welcome to the forum :)

Sep 8, 2010
More information

Thank you for the welcome! My tank is only a 1/2 gallon, which I now realize is pathetically small. (The pet store manager, who shall remain nameless convinced me at the time that this was acceptable. Hah!) There is no heater or filter. However, I have been consistently doing a full water change twice a week. I used a multi-test strip and the nitrate and nitrite levels appeared safe and the pH was in the normal range. However, the hardness and alkalinity levels were low, but I haven't done anything to address that.