My vallisneria is growing hair

In my 10 gallon tank I have spirral vallisneria and saggitarius (sp?) plants mostly, as well as a community of gupies/minnows/tetras.

Recently the broader and taller leaves of the vallisneria have been growing stringy, hairlike things. They almost look like roots although they are near the tops of the leaves.

This has been going on for only a few days but it's bothering me: what is it and should I be concerned??

Other than that the plants look healthy - I've had them almost a month now. I don't have a digital camera, or I'd be posting shots...

I don't know about heavily - I've only had the plants for a month or so and have planted them throughout about 1/3 to 1/2 of the tank leaving some room for them to spread out as well as grow thicker if that's what they want. This is my first time growing aquatic plants although on dry land, at least, I seem to have a bit of a green thumb.

As for the 10gal being overstocked, I realize that, it was never planned out that way but you know how it is. I'm glad all the fish (except the common pleco) are very tiny, but STILL. So I have a plan in th works..... however I would sort of like to get my plants sorted out first. I'll be keeping a pretty close eye on water quality of the overstocked tank.

djlen

Large Fish
May 12, 2003
Somerdale, New Jersey
Visit site
You have a seriously over stocked tank. That's probably the reason for the nitrates being that high.
That high a level is going to stress the fish and probably cause you some algae issues in the near future.
Are you feeding any other ferts to balance the high nitrates?
What is the wattage and type of lighting?

Len

1. I realize that and plans are in the works to thin the stock out.

2. Algae issues - none so far with 2 little and 1 bigger plecos. Like I said I'm keeping a very close eye on the water condition just knowing how overstocked it is right now.