My 20 Gallon Nano Reef Journal

Feb 8, 2009
I am completely new to saltwater aquariums. I’ve had freshwater aquariums throughout my life so I know that there is a wide variance of opinions you will hear from hobbyists regarding every subject from equipment to feeding to water changes and on and on. However, I had no idea how much this variance in opinion is amplified in the saltwater world. I simply wanted to share the journal of my 20 gal. nano reef tank as yet another reference point for nano hobbyists, especially beginners like myself. I will also share both advice and opinions, both in (parentheses). I am no expert, and have/will make mistakes, so please just use the advice and opinions as just that – advice and opinions. If you are using this as a guide supplement for your nano reef I will assume you have read lordroad’s step-by-step nano reef guide (thank you very, very much lordroad – I probably would never have set up a reef tank if it wasn’t for your guide).

3/7/09

Rinsed 20 lbs. of sand and added to tank along with 18 gallons distilled water. After two hours installed two powerheads (295 GPH each) and heater (100w). Added IO salt and API Marine Buffer per directions.

(Opinion – Regarding Water Gravity: I believe 1.023 is an “ideal” gravity because nano’s are subject to evaporation and the subsequent increase in gravity. With a low preset gravity there is more tolerance to this known increase.)

3/8/09

Gravity at 1.020. Added more salt. pH at 8.2. Temp. at 81 deg. Water is cloudy.

3/9/09