Can brackish fish go into freshwater...

VirgoWolf

Superstar Fish
Feb 16, 2006
Michigan
I think Yahoo is confused because to my knowledge there is no such thing as a salt "tablet" I am new to brackish and have never had SW, but I've had FW tanks for a while, never heard of them, can you find us a link or something?

f8fan

MFT Staff
Nov 19, 2004
Bangor, Maine
if the tablets are labeled "For Freshwater" than no.

Keep in mind that "Aquarium Salt" and true "Marine Salt" are completely different things. Aquarium Salt is more of a "tonic" and Marine Salt contains trace elements that resembles sea water. If you are keeping Brackish Fish, then you need to use Marine Salt ("Instant Ocean", etc.)

f8fan

MFT Staff
Nov 19, 2004
Bangor, Maine
kda2011 said:
well you know the freshwater salt you add to certain fish my store sells it in tablets 2!
Is it anything like this?

I've searched around at all of the online pet places I use and I can't find any Freshwater Salt Tablets. Not that I don't think you are correct, I just haven't ever heard of them.

Anyway, if they are designed for Freshwater (and since you indicated above that they are the same as the "freshwater salt to add for certain fish")... then no - they wouldn't necessarily hurt the brackish fish, however it is not the same as the Marine Salt that they require that contains certain minerals/elements that brackish fish require in their enviornment. So if you are using this salt in the hopes that it will do double-duty as making the water brackish, then you won't accomplish that, what you will have is freshwater with a tonic ("Aquarium Salt").

Hope this helps! :) Welcome to MFT, btw.

Oralacerta

Small Fish
Jul 5, 2006
Syracuse
I don't mean to drag up old bones, but this is thread brings up some important issues.