What would you pick?

Oct 22, 2002
Well I just got a 40 gallon plexi tank and was going to set it up for saltwater,  now this is going to be my first saltwater tank and I guess I have a few questions to help clear up the air some.
 What are the best fish to get that dont require perfection as far as how the water and eco-system should be?
 I was looking into buying a filter called: the Eco system filter from what I have read it does not require a protein skimmer of any kind it looks like a decent setup.
 And most of all what is the typical thing to do to keep the tank running smooth? PH, nitrate, nitrite, and so forth please bare with me I am very new to saltwater.  Thankyou very much for all your time.

Sonofseattle

dattack

Large Fish
Oct 22, 2002
Well this ecosystem miracle mud is not a new concept but a very interesting filtering system.  I have not used it but I am not going to knock it but people have good results with it.

But let me warn you by saying that it is a denitrification filter which has mud, warms, and caulerpa (plants) to take out the nitrate and at the same time can be found in most current setup which consists of a deep layer of sand bed (6").  Many people have stated that the company is in fact selling mud from somewhere which is rich in nutrients, worms etc.  There is no miracle to it.  

Do realize the contents of miracle mud.  It contains a lot of iron and aluminum which supercharges macroalgae growth and plant growth.  This mud works but are you willing to spend and arm and a leg.
http://www.lars-sebralla.de/ma_miracle.html

You can try the system and get back to us but most people use this current setup:
1.  4-6 inches of deep sand bed (aragonite)
2.  1lb/gallon of live rock
3.  good skimmer

The hardiest fishes have to damsels, clowns, triggers.

Matt Nace

Superstar Fish
Oct 22, 2002
Pennsylvania