Starting a 10G nano built around clowns

Rewd

Small Fish
Oct 25, 2004
Visit site
Starting a 20G nano built around clowns *EDIT*

Yep, another newbie 20g starter thread...

I've been keeping freshwater for years so I'm not a total newb, however I want to start a 20g nano. I know the bigger the better. The problem is my freshwater hobby has eliminated almost all the space I have and the absolute biggest I could go is 20 gallons. So knowing that, I want to build this small reef around Percula clowns.

I'm doing tons of research on set up and I'm thinking of going with live rock from liveaquaria.com. Does anyone have any experience with their LR? It's the best deal I've seen compared to local LFS's including shipping. What's a good amount for a 20gallon? Should I go with 20lbs or is more necessary...? I would like to make a nice reef formation for hiding places and such but I don't know how much would be necessary to achieve this. Also, money is a factor so I can't go nuts.

How about lighting? All of my research isn't yielding a whole lot of understanding on nano-reef lighting. Are the standard flourescent lights that come with a 20 gallon not sufficient to run a nano-reef? How about this as a replacement?

Lastly the fish: is it safe to keep two clowns in a 20 gallon as the "centerpiece" fish? If so, what other fish (non-inverts) could safely go in with them that are compatible and wouldn't overstock the tank?

I'm liking all of the following:
-Royal Gammas (Gorgeous fish!!!)
-Royal Dottybacks
-Yellowtail Damsels
-Firefish

What of these are safe to go in with two clowns without overstocking? is it possible to do 2 clowns and (*gulp*) one of each? I know that's highly improbable. Any suggestions on what combos are possible would be a great help. :)

EDIT: I'll make room for a bigger tank so all was changed to reflect starting a 20 gallon and NOT a ten gallon.

Last edited:

Fishfreak

Large Fish
Aug 3, 2004
NC
Visit site