Plants so expensive at LFS

dattack

Large Fish
Oct 22, 2002
I just wanted to say that I have been buying plants at 3-4 different LFS around my areas for nice affordable plants.  Most of the LFS only carry a few different species of plants, varying from one store to another.  I think the most frustrating part for me is trying to find a foreground plant such as microswords and hairgrass.  It's so dang expensive to even trying with hairgrass.  I bought 30 dollars worth of hairgrass (10 dollars a bunch) and it filled like only  3 square inches of my aquarium.  I am trying to fill up my 60 gallon aquarium with plants and can't really plant "all at once"  because I can't dish out too much money at once.  (I am a student on a budget).  I am actually waiting for plants to grow in my 20 gallon and transplanting it to the 60 gallons and this could take forever.  I have tried an online store called www.floridadriftwood.com and the plants they gave me were ok with half of them pretty brown and dying, especially the vallinersia.  Anybody have any luck with other online sites that give you a fairly good amount of plants for a reasonable price?

scrimman

Large Fish
Oct 22, 2002
www.caprok.net
I tried PetsWarehouse (not to be confused with pet warehouse) and I can't reccommend them.   >:( Screwed me and pissed me off royally.
Live and learn :-/
I'm going to be trying www.azgardens.com here shortly, and I'll let you know what happens.  They get fair to middle'n reviews at some of the other forums. ;) Did my research this time.

Matt Nace

Superstar Fish
Oct 22, 2002
Pennsylvania
Well the best way ..is to get your plants you have in tip top shape. Then you take the clipping from that plant..or if it shoots you take the shoot. Some plants you actually cut in half, or they will seperate themselves. I usually buy 1 plant I like, and if it does good, I take the cutting, ect. from it.