Newbie needs help with water hardness

Oct 22, 2002
Hi All

I'm new to cichlids (and to this forum) so please bear with me...

I'm having trouble getting my GH to "proper" levels for Africans (I'm hoping to get a pair of shell dwellers...the tank is currently cycling). My tap water is quite soft (alkalinity and GH near 0, pH 7.2). On the advice of my LFS, I used Seachem Malawi Victoria Buffer, which raised alkalinity to 120ppm, GH to 50ppm, and pH to 8.0. My problem is that I can't seem to get the GH any higher than 50. I've done some tests, and adding more Seachem product doesn't seem to do anything. Another LFS said to add plain aquarium salt, but that didn't work either.

Am I doing something wrong? Do I need to get a different product?  Aaack! Any advice would certainly be appreciated!!     ???

R

ronrca

Im not quite clear as what you mean by alkalinity? Im assuming that your are refering to carbonate hardness, KH (also refered to as temporary hardness) rather than a pH greater than 7.0! Raising kH is rather easy. Getting some rocks like limestone will help. You can also filter through marble chips or other calciferous material. Total hardness (GH) is a combination of temporary and permanent hardness. The fraction of total hardness which cannot be removed by boiling is called permanent hardness. Permanent hardness is caused by calcium sulphate. Permanent hardness can therefore be determined by subtracting the figure for temporary hardness from the figure of total hardness. Therefore increasing KH can increase GH. Im not one for using chemicals for raise KH/GH.

Oct 22, 2002
Thanks to all for the advice...

I'll try to find some type of calciferous material to put in the tank (I agree with your philosophy, RONRCA...the fewer chemicals, the better...).

Thanks again!  ;D

sharkbait

Small Fish
Oct 22, 2002