New to SW

Jul 9, 2003
Columbia, SC
www.youtube.com
Hi, i would love to start up a small SW tank. (Small to start and get used to SW) and i was wondering.....If i got say.....a 20-25 Gal. Is the stuff filter/light that comes with the aquarium good to use? what else do i need to make it ready for SW. What kind of Rocks should i get, Sand?And what kind of fish are good for starters cause i know u can put a lot of $ down the drain with SW if u are inexpirenced. Thanx.

*celebrate

Last edited:

1979camaro

Ultimate Fish
Oct 22, 2002
San Ramon, CA
first, most people will say go bigger b/c its easier to keep water parameters in line

that said, if all you want is fish then the filter/lights should be ok, but a filter upgrade wouldnt hurt...decorations are up to you, but coraline gravel would be good b/c it will make the water more alkaline (you wanna be in the 8s)...ive read that damsels are good for starting, but just like fw you will need to cycle...

keep in mind that i am no expert, so others may tell you otherwise and are probably more correct

Kevin

Jul 9, 2003
Columbia, SC
www.youtube.com
Well i would like either some live rock or some kind of coral formation in the middle with the fish.....is there any certain nececities for that? I just want to really get used to keeping a SW tank so i can upgrade to a larger 1 later.

So you say a coraline gravel?.....i'll have to go to the LFS and see what they suggest.

Thanx

JasonF

Small Fish
Jun 22, 2003
UK
Visit site
As Camaro says, go for as big as you can afford.

Temperature, Alkalinity, PH, SG, all fluctuate less/more slowly in a larger tank, and swift fluctuations may kill the fish.

Would say get some books and read up a bit too, I say get some books as I have three and each disagrees with the other on some things...