Need help starting my 60 gallon saltwater aquarium

Feb 5, 2012
Lancaster, PA
Ok, as my username states, I am new at the whole saltwater game. I decided to throw my hat into the ring when I heard of the challenge and the immense rewards that building and maintaining a saltwater aquarium comes with. I purchased a 60 gallon tank since I heard it was a good starter size and my daughters were immediately excited, especially when they saw some of the saltwater fish online. I only have the tank right now as I am doing this process slow and correct........well hopefully correct lol. I know what pumps, filters, crushed coral, protein skimmer, wavemaker, and everything else I'm getting, but I'm running into problems deciding on fish.Firt off, my daughters would be heartbroken if I couldn't pt at least one clownfish in, whichluckily I heard that I can put and should put two in, as they do well in pairs. Unfortunately, I can not put a tang in there as I would need a bigger tank, pretty big dissapointment but hey, you gotta walk before you can run. I was wondering how many fish max I could keep in the tank so I don't overstock and I end up limiting the fishes growth? I was also wondering, with the size of the tank I have, and I am planning on using liverock and live plants, would go great with the clownfish but also look amazing in the tank once completed. I'm using a double bright LED light in the hood, and then wan to place some mutli color LED bands in the bottom just underneath the crushed coral so I have a bit of a wow factor in the bottom of the tank. The tank is a four foot long tank. Any and all help would be greatly appreciated! Thank you!!

Thyra

Superstar Fish
Jun 2, 2010
Yelm, WA
I am not a SW person, but the first thing they will ask you is "Have you read the Stickys at the beginning of this forum?" That much I know - there is a lot of information there.

Thyra

Superstar Fish
Jun 2, 2010
Yelm, WA