My DIY Tank/Stand

surfergal

Small Fish
Oct 22, 2002
WOW! What a stand. I like those cool cover pieces that encase the corners of the tank. You are one lucky duck with a Dad that spent that much time and effort on a stand. Do something really special for him at Father's Day OK!

surfergal ;)

newfisher

Small Fish
Oct 22, 2002
*celebratesmiley*

Ronrca,

Wow, that's vera cool! I would love to try making my own, rather than buying one...perhaps you and your dad would consider selling plans ??? I didn't get the backpiece folding out..can you explain? I'm pretty new at all this anyways...

Great job !!!

Kevin

newfisher

Small Fish
Oct 22, 2002
*crazysmiley*

Colesea....

Click on Ronrca's name, then his website. It will drop you into his yahoo photo album. Select 90 gal.

Great tank, Ronrca!  *thumbsup2*

Kevin

R

ronrca

The backpiece is using 2 sheets of oak instead of one piece. By doing this, we put a hinged in the center therefore the top sheet opens and gives access to the back of the tank.

colesea

Superstar Fish
Oct 22, 2002
NY USA
Thanks newfisher, I didn't know a person could do that<G>.

Wow, nice stand *drool* nice fish too BTW. Hey, if your dad made more of those, you two could turn a pretty proffit by selling them to AGA or Oceanic or something. They would easily sell. That's one beautiful stand.
~~Colesea

R

ronrca

My dad and I both agree that this stand would sell however it takes time to build and Im not sure how much we could sell this stand for. Materials alone costed around $600 and thats not including the tank and any other aqua related 'stuff'. The materials we used is solid oak therefore a little expensive. As for the plans, well, sad to say Im not sure where they are. I actually 'designed', if you could call if that, the stand and did the electrical work. My dad is a finishing carpenter by trade and started making furniture initially.

I guess the question is:
How much would you actually pay for this stand?