Lighting

Shipley18

Large Fish
Nov 27, 2004
Visit site
i want corals for my tank...its 5.5 gallons an di currently have a 50/50 bulb in my hood...and i lost my wattage but i think its about15 watts so how do i up the wattage its a screw in bulb and i need help

Feb 1, 2005
I hope you don't mind my jumping in here...

I have been lurking around for a few days now, and have been inspired to set up my own nano. I have some experience with fish,as I am a manager in a petstore. But unfortunately my expertise is limites to reptiles and other creatures. But Im trying to learn!

SO i have started setting up my 3 gallon nano tonight with crushed coral substrate and water from the tanks in the store which is already established. I was not too pleased with the liverock we have at the moment, so I will hit up some SW hotspots this weekend for some decent pieces. In this tank I plan on maybe housing a percula, firefish or some small goby (neon?) in addition to the clean up crew. I am none too worried about coral, but the lighting question is making me nuts. This is a little tank with a screw in bulb. Id like to have some decent inhabitants in the future so what should I look for in bulbs? The one in there now is bland and bright white- i know there are special lights. Insight?

AndyL

Large Fish
Oct 22, 2002
Calgary AB
And stick to a small goby - firefish do not qualify - they swim around too much. It would be cruel to stick one in a 3g tank.

Clown gobies, redheaded gobies, and catalinas (realize they're cool water) are the generally accepted "Fish" for tanks of that size.

Shipley: Coralife makes a 20w 50/50 screw in (make sure you get the 20w not the 10), or they also make a dual 13w fixture that should fit the 5.5s

Andy

Shipley18

Large Fish
Nov 27, 2004
Visit site