Help, Yellow Dwarf Gourami Turning Black

Dec 6, 2009
Earth
I recently purchased a yellow dwarf gourami about a week ago and he is now turning black on the lower fin and on his face, it started out as a little patch of black and is now getting bigger. He is eating normally, is not lethargic and shows no other signs of change.

His tank mates include a female yellow dwarf gourami, two bumblebee gobies and a mystery snail, I feed formula one tropical flakes, and later in the evening blood worms for the gobies. I have tried googling this and I am not finding anything. I am new to the hobby and I am hoping to find some answers.

bassbonediva

Superstar Fish
Oct 15, 2009
Northern Arizona
pics? no idea here, ive never come across any black fungus or tumors, assuming those are some possibilities.
I'm not a gourami person, but I'm wondering if the yellows do what my cellophane male betta did. He has a nice clear yellow on his body when I first got him, but when he gets stressed some of his scales along his sides turn black. He comes out of it once he's not stressed anymore, but it's rather disconcerting at first. First time it happened, I thought he had ick, but then I realized ick is white. :p

stoddern

Large Fish
Jul 26, 2009
Vermont
my golden 3 spot gourami has lost his spots and developed a snake skin pattern on the back as he got older, my guess is yours is changinging with age aswell most likely due to cross breeding

Doomhed

Large Fish
Feb 11, 2003
Rhode Island
Visit site
It just means that like your yellow betta, he carries the recessive gene for black coloration and he is starting to express the color either due to stress or age. I would not be surprised if he was actually a wild cross, someone trying to strengthen thier genetic lines by reintroducing a wild fish into their breeding program. Breeders of bettas do it all the time using imbillis and plakat splendins.

bassbonediva

Superstar Fish
Oct 15, 2009
Northern Arizona