Help! Sick Wrasse!

Oct 22, 2002
Beautiful Alaska!!
*crazysmiley*Hi-

Yesterday, I purchased a tricolored fairy wrasse (Cirrhilabrus solorensis) for my salt tank. In the pet store, he was fine, no signs of sickness at all.

This morning I noticed that one of his eyes was beginning to look slightly clouded ( not much, just enough so that when the light hits it right, you can see it.) I also noticed a few (4 or 5)very small spots on his fins, and something on his side that looks like a dead scale just hanging there.

Ammonia, Nitrite, and Nitrate are all fine, and the only other tankmates he has is a blue damsel and a firefish. He's also eating well, so I don't think he's too sick. I have never had any other diseases in any of my tanks, so I am kind of new to the whole sick fish thing.

So- any idea on what this might be? And what can I treat it with? I'm afraid I don't have a hospital tank, so any treatment that you might recommend would need to be for a whole tank.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!!!!

Thanks
Anna

dattack

Large Fish
Oct 22, 2002
Most likely, his illness is caused by stress of your tank.  Could be temp/feeding/water conditions etc.  But I think he is probably stressed with being in there with the damsels.  Sometimes damsels can be nasty and be very territorial with other fish.
So you probably have to quarantine your fish and used some possibly medicated food, or an antiobiotic such as maracyn, or possibly copper.  Use a 5-10 gallon bucket of saltwater as quarantine if you don't have another tank.  I advise to separate because I am just concern that the damsel is the one causing it all the stress.
I suspect it's probably bacterial infection but also with a fungal component if the eye is cloudy.

dattack

Large Fish
Oct 22, 2002
Well even if the damsels didn't stress him, I think fish would feel much better alone than in a small bucket by itself rather than with other fish if it's crowded.