headlights?

Hey, I was driving home from the airport today when I got the idea of headlights for aquarium lighting.  It seems like a good idea; waterproof, bright, efficient, low heat, and relatively cheap.  I was wondering if anyone had thought of the same thing or if anyone knew if they did or didn't work.

thanx 4 the help

riddlephil

Medium Fish
Oct 22, 2002
im a newbie in the plant department too but i think that they might be too bright.  THey also run off 12 volts instead of 110.  So you would have to get a power converted as well.

riddlephil

Medium Fish
Oct 22, 2002
i would say ya for sure. just try to look at a headlight up close.  I dont know for sure, like i say, im new to this but i think they are too bright.  Im looking at getting a power compact kit from ah supply currently.  check them out
www.ahsupply.com

Somonas

Superstar Fish
Oct 22, 2002
O-town
www.myfishtank.net
I think they might get a bit hot, and if water splashed on them , they might break and you'd have some pretty nasty gases near your aquarium water, (halogen, neon, argon, etc. yuck)

however I have seen people use those high intensity lights  you see on those orange stands at Home Depot.. contractors use them on construction sites.  now if I can only remember who uses that.  It might be someone here, I don't remember.

Somonas

Superstar Fish
Oct 22, 2002
O-town
www.myfishtank.net
I wonder if there was one tank approaching another tank with hight beams on, would the approaching tank flick his off an on really quickly?

If a tank passed a police tank on the highway, would it flip it's highbeams on and off to warn other aquariums?

ok I am silly today  ;D

R

ronrca