GSP not eating...HELP

xsgyrl9

New Fish
Jun 5, 2007
hi i'm new at this and i just got a gsp about a month and a half ago. i put him in a baby biorb, he's the size of a nickel and when i first put him in the biorb he was really happy, eating well, and thriving. but the last week and a half he hasn't eaten anything and he's changing from bright green to a dark dark green and back again. i put some small snails in there and he used to really love frozen krill. but he hasn't eaten either one. i also tried frozen blood worms. and although he hasn't eaten he has a tiny bulge a little lower than where his stomach is. please help!!!

May 22, 2007
also, what salinity are you running this at?

The bulge could be constipation, which would explain why he's not eating.

I'd suggest a 50% water change, and make sure you dissolve your salt in the new water before adding it to the tank.

How big is he now? That tank is much to small for all but a juvenile GSP.

xsgyrl9

New Fish
Jun 5, 2007
he's about the size of a nickel...the water was cycled and the levels are all fine because i just got it tested. if he's constipated what do i do? is the baby biorb still too small if he's that small?

May 22, 2007
Constipation

Some fish are more susceptible to constipation than others. Usually fish with more compressed bodies like angelfish and silver dollars. Symptoms are loss of appetite and swelling of the body. The cause is almost always diet.
Usually, with a change of diet, the condition rights itself. But in stubborn cases try dried food that has been soaked in medicinal paraffin oil. Glycerol or castor oil may also be used. If the diet is changed on a regular basis and live foods offered occasionally this condition may never occur.