Gourami's Mysterious Death

Mikael616

Small Fish
Apr 4, 2010
MA
Hello there, I am also a newbie to the site ^^;

THE BACKGROUND:
I recently bought myself a lovely 29 gallon fish tank pack with stand and all. I bought some rather expensive gravle substrate from Aquarium Fish: Tropical Freshwater Fish and Saltwater Fish for Home Aquariums that came with a pre-existing bactaria culture, water clerifier and all that good stuff (package arrived in the mail (two 20 pound bags). The bags there thick with my gravle inside and the liquid which also kept the bacteria culture kicking.

I had my tank set up for about two weeks just be be safe (the instructions on the bag said that one bag (of the two I had) would treat up to 20 gallons, so i used a bag and a half to make 30 pounds of gravle, enough to treat my 29 gallon, you could set up your tank, wait 24 hours and it would be set for fish. Like I said I waited the aditional time. I ensured my water had a Ph of 7.0-7.2 (My dad insisted I only needed a Ph kit, i wanted the master kit for 39.99 which had nitrite, nitrate, amonia and all that jazz).

I bought a Gold Gourami, your general Pleco, and a tire track eel (Whom will be moved to a large tank once the fellah has grown up, he is currently about 4 cm).

The tank the gourami came from was just a glass tank, no gravle or decorations, and was what I would call very crowded, with at least 20 fish in what I would guess is a 10- 15 gallon. The tank also had at least three dead fish in it. The pleco came from the same tank but I noticed the plecos must have been hungry because they would try and chase down the Gouramis and suck on them, which I've read they will do if they are VERY hungry. The gourami's eyes were VERY red, but I assumed that was the way they looked.

THE PROBLEM:
Thursday: