ghost knife slow death ph problem

tletle

New Fish
Sep 10, 2010
Help. Slowly over last two weeks my fish have been dying. Some of my faint danioes died. My gobies. I had my Ph tested its TOO high... The stuff to get it down not working. I have small tank setup and put ghost knife in. I learned that the crushed coral is the killer. I think. My ghost knife is about 2 years old. I don't want to lose him. He swims around some then he lays on side. Its a 45 gallon with external filter and air bubbler. Some of the fish that died of stomach bloat.

Help please

Doratus

Small Fish
Sep 10, 2010
I'm no expert but what I would do is get a large bucket or some other empty tank and fill it up with treated tap water, the same stuff you would add in a water change. I would put the fish in there for the time being, adding a submersible filter like a fluval. Of course make sure the water is the same temperature as the water in the existing tank as to not further increase stress. I would then do a complete water change. If you think the crushed coral really is the problem I would of course replace it at this time.

You have to think about other factors though as well. Do you have sufficient filtration? Is the temperature right? Have you ever tested for Nitrates or Nitrites? In my amateur opinion you need to basically start over from scratch and hope the fish lives through the cycling process. Although depending on what exactly is the cause of the pH imbalance you may be able to keep your filtration media and whatnot so that there is already good bacteria ready to go.

Sorry to hear about your troubles and sorry I couldn't be of more help. I just joined this forum myself but I'm sure someone else will chime in.

lauraf

Superstar Fish
Jan 1, 2010
Vancouver, British Columbia