Driftwood questions

Hi All
Newbie here, with a couple of questions
after buying my 55 gallon tank and getting it setup now with 13 cichlids and a sucker fish, i want to add some driftwood
i look on ebay and prices are moderate to high
and the lfs is always high prices, my question is
all these people on like ebay im sure are just finding them in there local creek's or river or??
there's a lot here in colorado where i am so i was thinking about going on some hikes this wknd, and go looking for some drift wood, my question is what do u do to prepare it for the tank ? do u take the bark off or leave it on or either ?
and the guy i got the tank from gave me this really nice one with even a slate mount but i have to have like 3 huge rocks on it to keep it submeressed about how long u think before i can get rid of the rocks that are on top of it ??
thanks for any help !!

Rd

dattack

Large Fish
Oct 22, 2002
Yes most of the driftwood on Ebay are found my people next to their backyard.  Unfortunately I live in the city and usually you can't find driftwood unless you cut down your neighbor's trees.
;D

Yes you can go to a nice hike and find some dried up wood.  If the wood is submersed under water for a few months, then they won't float after that.  I would say it's going to take a few months before you can remove the slate.

If you find some in your backyard, just let it soak in water with a bit of bleach to kill some organisms and let is soak for a few days.  Rinse again with just freshwater and you are set.  If it doesn't float, then you are going to have to screw it to a piece of slate with stainless steel screws.

huck

Small Fish
Oct 22, 2002
I recommend you check out bigalsonline.com for driftwood, they sell it for fairly cheep, different sizes and everything.  And its already prepared, all you gotta do is soak it.

Oct 22, 2002
Silver Spring, MD