bottom feeder suggestions?

Kuroshio

Large Fish
Jan 29, 2005
washington
Visit site
Hey, does anyone know a good bottom feeder for a pond? I am guessing that it is between 200-250 gallons and is stocked with around 30 (and diminishing) goldfish. Currently there is a channel catfish over a foot long and growing in there eating everyone while they sleep. I would like to eat him errr hmmm, trade him for something else. I live in the cold, damp, *great* NW and need somthing that can winter over.

The pond was just given to me by a friend and i spent this weekend digging it from the old home and installing into it's new home. I don't have any history on the pond or the inhabitants. AND..the biggest gold fish is 9 inches long and 5 inches tall :eek:

Thanks in advance *thumbsups

chichian

Medium Fish
Jun 17, 2005
Las Vegas, NV, USA
Kuroshio said:
I would like to eat him errr hmmm, trade him for something else.
LOL, whatever gets the job done I guess :).

Um, I have no actual experience but I remember seeing this really cute shark online (not really a shark) that apparently ate algae and could tolerate pond temperatures, let's see if I can find it again...
Yes, I saw in on liveaquaria.com: Chinese Hi Fin Banded Shark. I'm not sure in actual practice if this will work for you, but you may want to research him more and see. He's very QT.... oh but he can get really gigantic... maybe you can enlarge your pond ;)

Seleya

Superstar Fish
Nov 22, 2004
Cape Cod, MA
Visit site
Those suckers get HUGE! LOL Tho it would be neat.... From what I've read, they get very plain looking as they age. If you're interested in them, I can get you the text from one of my books (my only fishy book that mentions them afaik) :)