Betta not eating

madhippoz

Large Fish
Jan 14, 2003
Calgary, Alberta
Visit site
Hi all, my girlfriend's Betta appears to not be eating, and is not overly active either for the last several days. I haven't been over to see him myself, but she says there's no sign of ich or fungus or anything else. She has him in a small 5gal tank which is fairly new, just a little over a month. I'm not certain that she let the tank cycle properly, so I'm going to head over there tonight with my test kit to test out her Nitrite and Ammonia levels. I'm guessing one or the other will be high, but he has not previously shown any signs of stress. Any ideas would be great, she's quite worried about him.

Allan

Small Fish
Mar 18, 2003
Visit site
Yeah, I've had lots of experience with Bettas not eating. If it eats within 5-7 days, then it was just spooked and uncomfortable with the new surroundings. Also, try different foods--but they should at least be tasting it or sniffing it--showing interest. If it doesn't, then definitely something's wrong with him or the water. Fix the water if it's "messed up"--if it's clear, then the Betta might have a parasite or fungal infection. One of mine died of fungus after not eating, and another didn't eat anything for 2 weeks! He didn't eat anything I tossed in no matter what it was.
Basically, if you buy a brand new Betta & it doesn't eat "soon", you got a bad Betta. Good luck.

madhippoz

Large Fish
Jan 14, 2003
Calgary, Alberta
Visit site
Yup the tank has a heater and it stays between 76-78 degree's. He's been in the tank for about 3-4 weeks now and has been eating and acting normally up until a few days ago. He seems completely unaware, or uninterested that she is putting food in there. She uses betta pellets and flake food, both of which he has eaten before, but won't touch now. The water is clear and clean and she does her weekly water changes.

madhippoz

Large Fish
Jan 14, 2003
Calgary, Alberta
Visit site