Are nano tanks harder to keep?

Jan 3, 2005
Visit site
I'm new to salt water tanks. I know with fresh water tanks small tanks are harder to keep than the bigger tanks. Is this true with sw? What is the best size tank for sw?

The internet elf

1979camaro

Ultimate Fish
Oct 22, 2002
San Ramon, CA
you are correct fishdude...and nano SW is even more difficult than nano FW because the water quality must be higher for the health of the organisms you keep...not to mention there are simply more variables

to further make things a mess, if you want to do a nano reef the lights really play havoc on temperature and evaporation

an ideal starter size (imo) is between 40 and 75 US gallons...a 55 is always a good choice because they are cheap (relatively) and a lot of different equipment is available for them

but, your best bet is to get a few good books. i would reccomend checking out the general SW stickys for more information

S.Reef

Superstar Fish
Dec 1, 2003
Michigan
I would go with a bigger tank if you can afford it. More room for fish and corals...however nanos will light up a small corner of the kitchen or end table.

nanos are harder to maintain balanced water paramenters because there is less water volume in your tank. Rememeber that they are usually around 10 gallons. If you are just starting out, i would recommend a larger tank if its possible for you. Because when there are changes in the water parameters, they take a lot longer to develor because there is more water.

AndyL

Large Fish
Oct 22, 2002
Calgary AB
Just to be difficult...

I'm going to say the opposite :)

My 2.5g nano is actually my least maintenance intensive tank I own. Maintenance, is weekly to scrape the coraline off the glass, daily feedings, and every 5 days I refill the 2L for the auto top-off. Oh - and I have to remove the salt creep weekly or whenever it annoys me.