Will this work?

Jun 10, 2003
Pullman, WA
Visit site
Here's the deal: I'd DEFINITELY prefer a larger tank, but I'm a college student and on-campus housing regulations limit us to 10 gallons. If you're caught with a larger tank, they can confiscate it...wouldn't want that! Sooooo....I'm stuck with a nano. It would only be for about 10 months, at which point I'll be moving to a place that allows for a larger setup.

I work at a pet store, so I have great access to supplies and knowledge, but my coworkers are having conflicting opinions about the viability of this combination....what do you think?

1 true percula clownfish, with bulb anemone
1 purple dottyback
1 blue damsel
1 mussel
1 starfish
1 cleaner shrimp

Would I be overstepping my boundaries here? I'm terrified of overcrowding my tank. If not the last three, then would the first three be alright together in that small of a tank? I absolutely love that array of colors...purple, blue, and orange...could they survive? Thank you all for your input!

Kristine

420Loach

Superstar Fish
May 26, 2003
Makaha, Hawaii
Visit site
a 10 gal would be small for the fish you want. the clownfish and blue damsel should have at least a 30 gal.
the shrimp would be fine, and i couldnt find any info on the others.:D

that really sucks that your campus has that regulation, i could understand a really big dog or something but a fish tank?! that blows!!:mad:

wayne

Elite Fish
Oct 22, 2002
Too many fish for a 10, the dottyback is likely unless you carefully pick your species simply rule the tank, unless it's annihalated by the similarly spiky blue damsel. Get a pair of tank -raised perculas or a percula and goby or gramma.
Do you have the lighting for a anemonae, and you really shouldn't stick one in a fresh tank anyway.