what do you do with the all the fishes

May 22, 2011
when they are grown? Do you keep all of them or sell them? I have one for sure that is pregnant and I don't know if I'm able to keep all of the babies. I'm going to put her in a separate tank (is a 2 gallon tank ok?) with no gravel but is rocks ok? I'm new at this and my first time breeding. Actually didn't plan it. :) My son is super excited though. Any help would be much appreciated!

Tooj

Medium Fish
Apr 9, 2011
Vancouver, B.C.
most people tend to think that a 2 gallon tank is too small. Myself, i think its ok for babies. But you want to make sure that you have a place for them to go when they start to get a little bigger. Also, you mite want to use a cycled tank? The best way to do it is to have a breeders net in your main tank. This ensures that the babies are kept in a fully cycled tank. That way you dont have to deal with 2 tanks at once.

Gravel is really a way to grow bacteria. The more surface area you have, the more bacteria can grow. Rocks will work, but only for a certain amount of time. Once the baby fish start to produce more ammonia then the bacteria (on the given surface area) can consume; youll have a problem.

Again, best way is to have a breeding net in your main tank.
Personally, i put plants in my tank so that a few babies can survive. Not all....It may sound mean, but its the way life goes. Eventually your going to be over run by fish if you dont keep your population in check. A few from every mother is all i really need to keep a good variety in the tank. Plus, that way only the strong ones survive?
If your not a fan of that, lots of plants will do. Im sure your LFS will take them off your hand at no charge! =) some might even pay you a small fee?

what kind of fish is giving birth?

lauraf

Superstar Fish
Jan 1, 2010
Vancouver, British Columbia