Vacuuming

Aug 20, 2005
Florida
www.myspace.com
I just got this vacuuming tube... it's not electric, just the one that will empty water into a bucket.. but i was wondering how much should i take out? Should the fish be placed in another tank while doing this? I've never done this before.. so i'm a lil on edge about what will be taking place in my tank while it's making all this movement...

when i do a 20% change i usually just take out the water from the top and replace it without worrying about the gravel or anything in the gravel...

so shoudl i just treat it like a 20% change, just taking from the bottom?

Toam

Large Fish
Jul 27, 2005
Grove, Oklahoma
I have to totally agree on this. I didn't pick up my gravel vacuum for the first couple of months, and I must admit I was really hesitant to when it came to using it the first few times. Once you've done it a few times and seen how much gunk can come out of your gravel, you'll stop worrying and realize it's just another way of helping the lil guys out. I do 30% water changes weekly, and I always do it with my gravel vac now, kinda a two in one I guess eh? ;)

vinodhv

Large Fish
Jul 26, 2005
chapel hill, nc
i'm not sure how big your tank is but in my 55 gallon, i try to vacuum about 25% of the gravel each time. remmember to keep the vacuum on a certain spot for a couple of seconds to dislodge all the gunk from the gravel.
on a side note, my dwarf gouramies always come up to the hose and start nipping at it...don't know what that's all about.

Aug 20, 2005
Florida
www.myspace.com
55 gallon tank.. in my DREAMS (although i think i may be getting one for christmas.. my boyfriend has been hinting he needs to get me a huge tank *fingers crossed*)

It's just a 20 gallon.. and i vacuumed.. yea i noticed while vacuuming.. omg there was a lot of junk in there... and the water comes out so fast it was freaky.. but it sure makes my life easier now, i can see why everyone does it lol

thanks so much for all your help :)