Triple Betta Tank

May 31, 2016
Hello everyone! I would like to ask about new aquarium start up and compatibility of various fish. I was looking to get an aquarium and I have settled on this one....

http://www.bigalspets.ca/fish/aquariums-furniture/betta-trio-20755-html.html

Its a triple tank and it is specifically a betta tank. Its 8.4 gallons and therefore 2.8 gallons per compartment. I would like to put a betta into the center enclosure, however maybe put other kinds of fish in the other 2. I have owned bettas in my life, however I have only kept them in the small bowls (I know, I know, BIG MISTAKE! I know better now.) and I am new to a proper aquarium setup.

My question is what kinds of fish can I keep a few of in each compartment (the effect i'm going for can be achieved with having 2-3 kinds of fish in each in each of the 2 remaining compartments) and because the vented dividers circulate the water, the fish will be sharing the same water. Thus, they need to be around the same p.h. tolerance and temperature range. Also the more attractive fish the better. Any recommendations?

Thanks in advance

CAPSLOCK

Elite Fish
Jul 19, 2004
Cape Cod
There aren't a whole lot of species that can really thrive in a 2-3g space, but there are a few. I think having multiple types of fish in the other 2.8g sections is not going to work though. The problem is there aren't all that many single, small fish - lots of the smaller fish require schools, and having the 6+ individuals that schooling fish require is just too much in a 2-3g space.