Titanium Ground Probes

R

ronrca

I wouldnt bother with them. I have heard some people saying that there might be electrical currents in the water because of heaters, motors, etc. but in a freshwater tank, its not worth it. Maybe in a saltwater tank. By actually grounding your tank, you can actually increase the risk of electrical currents and shock because the water is now at ground level. Im a Electrical Engineer so naturally Im interested in electricity and I have not found any evidence suggesting electrical currents in freshwater tanks. So, I would not worry about unless you dont feel comfortable without one. I dont have any for my tanks.

dattack

Large Fish
Oct 22, 2002
For any aquarium use, I would just get a GFCI outlet for anything dealing with water.  It's the same thing you encounter with the hairdryer and the cord.  It stops all circuit and stops you from getting electrocuted.
Some of the powerheads and other equipment have been running for more than 2 years in some of my tank and I have a feeling someday it's going to fry.
Also, I go a slight shock from a RIO pump that malfunctioned and that scared the heck out of me.  So install a GFCI and it will save your life.  A grounding problem will save your livestock.

dattack

Large Fish
Oct 22, 2002
Yes, I didn't know too much about electrical stuff until I got into the saltwater aquarium stuff.  Saltwater is just a better conductor of electricity therefore I was kind of worry about it too.  The information I received were from reef forums and almost everybody recommended getting a Ground Fault Circuit Interrupter.  It basically short circuits the power/electricity when there is a stray voltage.  You can buy one that you can plug to the wall or if you have eletrical experience, you can install one.  The message also talks about grounding probe.

http://www.reefcentral.com/vbulletin/showthread.php?s=&threadid=43949&highlight=gfci