Starting a nano saltwater tank

Feb 6, 2005
Hiya guys.

I'm new to this forum, but I have had a Twenty gallon freshwater tank for a couple of years and thought it would be really cool to try setting up a nano saltwater tank. I always loved the colours of the salt water fish, and it would be a real challenge to keep a sea water tank in good condition and I would find it more interesting than freshwater.

However, being a student I am not exactly loaded with cash, so that's why I am going to try and stay small, with a second hand five or ten gallon tank, and maybe no coral for a while because it is so expensive. One thing I do have though, is loads of time - so if there is a cost-saving way of doing something that takes more time - thats the way I'd be doing it!

So - how much is it likely to cost, anbd what equipment, rock, lighting etc will I need?

I am open to any and all advice you people can give me! Thanks.

S.Reef

Superstar Fish
Dec 1, 2003
Michigan
There are so many possibilities and scenarios to a salt tank. YOU have to narrow it down to what you want. My advice is to read a little more about the saltwater. See maybe what fish you want to keep and so fourth...we cant really tell you how much its going to cost if we dont even know the size of the tank. My guess is that it will start aroun $100 and theres no real maximum.

seastaar88

Superstar Fish
Feb 1, 2004
middletown, CT
LR will typically run you around $6/pound. you can be thrifty and get uncured LR, and cure it yourself, but I find it just way easier to buy the (more expensive) cured LR. then you'll have to think about quality of rock.. you can use cheaper, less appealing rock at base rock and just use high quality rock for the visible parts of your rockscape. OR you can use PVC to create a framework in which you attache rock to to make it the most cost efficient. there are definitly ways to keep the cost down with rock.

JeLeAk

Large Fish
Jan 4, 2005
Alaska