Snail or no snail

HeathDus9

Small Fish
Oct 3, 2009
I have a freshwater tank 20 gallon right now its in it's cycling process, but later on I was thinking of getting a snail or two.. I was wondering if anyone has any info about them that could help me out, if i get snails would i still need a pleco , and how many would I need, what different types are good, i dont want to ask the associates at my local petco, they kind of.. well.. just arnt helpful. I cant really find out much on google either suprisingly, anywho, any info would be much appreciated, im new to the tank life. lol thanks!!:D

mattmctyre

Large Fish
Sep 27, 2009
i would say no snail i made thaat mistake and they breed and grow so fast 1 or two might turn in to 100. serioulsly if you have an algea problem get a pleco or two they will actually let you see the inside of your tank.

jingles

Medium Fish
Jan 28, 2009
Auburn, AL
This site has some good info on snails Aqualand Pets Plus . Like mattmctre said be careful though. Just make sure you know what type of snail you want because some grow baseball sized, some reproduce like crazy, and some eat other snails.
As for whether or not you'll need a pleco, it depends on what you want them to do. If you want there to be no algae in your tank then yea I'd get a pleco, some corys, or an oto. If your just looking for a clean up crew then snails will do just fine.

Feb 27, 2009
If you don't overfeed, you won't have an explosion in snail populations. If you can't help but overfeed, and don't want a ton of snails, the nerite snail can't reproduce in freshwater, so can't overpopulate your tank.

HeathDus9

Small Fish
Oct 3, 2009
Cool thanks, yeah i think No snail, i dont want a thousand or a baseball sized one in my tank lol. I think a pleco is better for my setup. I just seen them at the pet store and thought they looked neat. :)

Oct 7, 2009