Rams

nobody

Large Fish
Sep 26, 2005
Utah
Hey all,

It's been a while, but I've returned and I have a question. I recently purchased some German Blue Ram cichlids (3) and some Gold Ram cichlids (2) and it looks to me like a gold and a blue have paired up and laid eggs. I'm just curious as to which one is the male and which is the female. I think the blue is the male and the gold the female, but I'm not positive. I'd also appreciate it if you'd help me to know if I have any other females among the rest of the rams. I'm still learning about these beauties and am excited at the possibility of razing youngsters. Thanks, here are some pics.

The pair and the eggs
111412_1728.jpg
111412_1734.jpg
111412_1726.jpg

The other rams
111412_1730.jpg
111412_1731.jpg

Jul 26, 2012
The gold ram with the eggs is a female, easy to tell with the pink belly. The other gold is likely a male as well as the other blue rams. I've heard most gold rams are sterile (gold rams are blue rams that are inbred to the point that there is no blue pigment remaining, same with electric blues though electrics have less sterility), but that could just be the males. The rams look quite young so they likely won't be successful at spawning the first (several) times. They will become better parents as the get older and larger at which point they might need to be moved to their own quarantine tank to spawn. My rams will guard the eggs in the community aquarium for 2 days and then eat them "for their protection" but will care for them really well when in their own tank.

Now if your question is on sexing, as long as your rams are good specimens the following rules usually work: