Newbie here!

Genesis

New Fish
Dec 1, 2009
O.K. so last X-mas I bought my daughter a 10-gal tank, a substitution for the hamster she requested. It lasted for approx. a month for her to lose interest, unfortunately or fortunately the fish obsession grew with me. In January 09 I purchased a 55 gal freshwater and absolutely love it.

Since than my daughters' fish have been transferred to my 55 gal and is currently empty. I had been debating a puffer or a betta, but than my brother bought a 55 gal saltwater and I found my new obsession. I absolutely refuse to give up my 55 gal freshwater so I have decided to turn the 10 gal into a saltwater nano tank.

Here is where I stand for plans:

Purchased:
20" Satellite 1x40 watt SunPaq with Lunar Light Current USA
1-HYDOR KORALIA 1 PUMP/POWERHEAD
1-Salinity Refractometer
1-used powerhead for salt mix

Plan on stocking with mostly soft corals and some lps
15 lbs live rock (lbs could be adjusted depending on density)
20 lbs sand
cuc-to be determined

Not sure about fish other than I want a purple firefish and a yellow watchman goby...maybe that is enough???

My goal for this tank is mainly the corals and I am willing to research extensively and force myself to have extreme patience.

Your extensive knowledge is what I am in need of.

Lights, powerheads and refractometer come in next week and I will proceed from there...the questions will probably be extensive.

Genesis

Lotus

Ultimate Fish
Aug 26, 2003
Southern California
home.earthlink.net
Welcome!

It sounds like you've got the basics down for the tank.

Before you fill it, you should probably get an RO/DI unit, or figure out a source for it (it's probably just as easy to buy it if you have a 10g). It's one of the most important things for the success of a reef tank. Maybe convince your brother to buy one and use his water (if he lives near you).