New to MFT(Senegal Bicher)

May 25, 2006
Detroit Michigan area
I am new to MFT and thought I would introduce myself and my favorite fish.

I saw a Senegal Bicher(dinosaur eel) at pets mart and I told my wife it was cool. A couple of weeks later, she and my kids surprised me and bought one for me along with all the fixins for a 10 gallon tank. I have not had a tank for many years and was happy with the surprise. I did not know much about them when I got them so I did some research on them. I found some good info about them but I was surprised when he was extremely active during the day. I read that they were nocturnal and did not come out much during the day. He never stops hunting for food day or night.
I was concerned about what fish to put in with him. A couple of local pet stores told me if I put fish that were larger than his mouth that he would not bother them. This has been true until today. Two weeks ago, my kids went with me to get some feeders for him and they fell in love with a albino frog. He was much bigger than my eel’s mouth so I thought he was safe. Well he decided that he was really hungry today. I came home and he had the frog half way in his mouth. It took him the better part of a day, but he swallowed him whole. When I got him a few months back he was only a couple of inches long and no wider than a pencil. I am amazed how quickly he has grown. He is already 8 inches long and as wide if not wider than my thumb. Since then we have bought and moved everyone into a 29 gallon tank.
My family has become really attached to him. Everyone thinks he is cool to watch. He seems to get along with all of the other fish, but hopefully he does not get to hungry again.

ram man

Superstar Fish
Apr 16, 2005
Arizona
please, and i stress please do some research, those fish are going to die, im surprised the discus are alive from what i was told birchirs need 55 gallon and up tanks alone, discus need clean water im surprised the gouramis are not killing each other