new kid on da block!

newfisher

Small Fish
Oct 22, 2002
*twirlysmiley*

Hi! I'm brand new to the world of fish! I've found this site, and hope to learn alot of good stuff! Right now I'm starting up a 10 gal. freshwater...but hope to get a BIGGER tank next year!

Colsea...u may know me as newfish on the comment board! Still would like to talk with you about water...I want the BEST for my fish!

See ya!
*celebratesmiley*

colesea

Superstar Fish
Oct 22, 2002
NY USA
The best water possible for your fish...hmmm...well, what type of fish do you want?

Water chemistry and water quality are two different issues that are closely related, but not quite. First pick out the type of fish you're insterested in, that will help decide what type of water chemistry you need. Water quality is simply how clean you keep it, and I usually tell people, if you won't drink the water from your fishtank, it ain't clean enough.

~~Colesea

newfisher

Small Fish
Oct 22, 2002
well, like I say, I am new to all this....

Been doing lots of reading...

I have well water (hard), but I have a water softener. I really like angel fish and tetras...really all kinds. My LFS says my water chem. wouldn't be right for those fish...they prefer softer water. They recommend a RO unit. But I see from some of your posts that pure RO water isn't good either...so what would be? a combo of the 2? 8 gallons of RO to 2 of my tap? I want to grow plants too...and upgrade to a LARGE tank next year...75 gallon or more...

I can buy a RO unit for around 220.00 from my lfs. Is that the route I should take? ::)

dattack

Large Fish
Oct 22, 2002
You don't need an RO water purifier if you are going have a planted tank.  With a planted tank, you will have a CO2 component such as a DIY yeast or buy a CO2 bottle to hook up to your system.  With a CO2 system, you pH will be lowered which will be beneficial the fish you keep.