My Fry Aren't Swimming!

Jun 21, 2011
Ok, so I'm new to this who breeding thing. I've got a bunch of fat platies and apparently one of them had babies yesterday. I'm really excited! I was able to catch 18 of them all together. I've put them in a breeder net, but now they're all just sorta hanging out at the bottom. A couple swim around, but not very much. Are they all dead??? What should I do? I have the "first bites" baby fish food for them and have put some in there, but I'm not sure if they're eating it or not. Any advice?? I'm thinking I should have left them alone in the gravels instead. :/

Kiara1125

Superstar Fish
Jan 12, 2011
Florida
How old are the fry?? The fry don't swim around a lot for the first week and for the first few days they are still absorbing the rest of their yolk sac. The best thing is to do is make sure that you have plenty of hiding spots so the fry can stay alive and let them go back into the tank. The gravel is a good place for them to hide as I have seen. My fry always found a way to get out of my breeder net so I just let them be. Take a toothpick and wet the very tip of it, dab it in First Bites and put it in the tank. Just make sure that the adults are well fed and you shouldn't have to worry about your babies dying.

Jun 21, 2011
I'm assuming they're only a day or two old. They're all clear and tiny. I just got home from work and there are only 11 in the net now when there were 17 or 18 in there this morning. The ones that ARE in there are swimming around now. Thanks for the advice!

Kiara1125

Superstar Fish
Jan 12, 2011
Florida