Journal: beginner 10g planted tank

alter40

Superstar Fish
Nov 26, 2007
Charlotte, NC
Well here is my journal for my first planted tank ever. I have never done a planted tank before and I'm pretty much clueless as to what I am doing, but I hope to learn fast. As promised I have a couple of pictures of my tank setup now. The glass still isn't super clean yet; I still have some cleaning left to do on that. I have till at least next week until all my stuff comes in from Drs. Foster and Smith. Alright now on with a couple of pictures.

First here is a picture of my tank up close. It has an old ornament in there from when this was setup before. I will not be using this once I set it up but I figured the picture would look better with something in there.

And here is an overview picture of where I have this setup. The tank is going to sit on my computer desk.

alter40

Superstar Fish
Nov 26, 2007
Charlotte, NC
Ok and here is a list of what I purchased from Drs. Foster and Smith for my tank. I'm ditching the old 5-15 regent filter and the non-submersible 50w heater that came with the tank and getting a more powerful biowheel filter and a submersible heater. Here is the complete list of my first order for the tank.

Hagen Thermometers Floating Glass w/Suction Cup $2.39
Mag-Float Small $6.79
Master Test Kit Freshwater $15.99
Flourish™ 250 ml $3.69
Flourish™ Excel 250 ml $3.69
Malaysian Driftwood 6"-8" $6.99
Eco-Complete Plant Substrate 20 lbs $21.99
Penguin BIO-Wheel Power Filters 100 $16.99
Rite-Size A Mini & 100 6 pk $9.49
Stealth Heater 50W $15.29
Fish Catcher Nets Small $1.29

Shipping $12.99
Discount $10.00 (found coupon code with google)
Total $107.58

alter40

Superstar Fish
Nov 26, 2007
Charlotte, NC
Here are some basic ideas that I have at the moment for this tank, but I'm looking for suggestions as to what others think will do well. At the moment this tank has a 15watt light.