Is this some kind of disease?

J'sRamAir

Large Fish
Aug 23, 2003
Lexington, SC
www.geocities.com
I noticed some white 'splotches' on a couple of my rainbow sharks the other day. I'm not sure what it is and was hoping it is nothing to worry about. Here are some crappy pics. I went here: http://www.fishyfarmacy.com/symptoms.html and looked for something that might be these spots, but I couldn't really find a match on that site. What do you guys think?

Attachments

Last edited:

kona2

Small Fish
Jul 12, 2003
Visit site
J'sRamAir-
I'm fairly new to aquariums, but am already treating a bacterial infection of flexibacter columnaris on my lemon tetra. I've been trying to learn all I can about fish disease, prevention & treatment.

I'm not familiar with rainbow sharks (they sure are pretty, though).My question would be- when did those white spots first show up? (Do you have some aquarium books with info on normal coloration on your fish?) The sudden presence of white spots on your fish makes me wonder if you have a fungal infection there. Is the lesion flat or fluffy. What color is it- true white or kind of grey? Are there any detectable ulcers or redness at the sites? (It's hard to tell from the photos).Can you think of any signifacnt changes in the tank or stressors to the fish (adding new fish/not changing water, etc)? I know I am asking more questions than providing answers, but maybe these might help figure out what you're looking at.

This website has some basic info on diseases:
http://www.exotictropicals.com/encyclo/fresh/information/Diseases.htm

Maybe someone else can shed some light on these mysterious white spots? (I don't think it's ich, since ich is supposed to be like little dots or like grains of salt).

J'sRamAir

Large Fish
Aug 23, 2003
Lexington, SC
www.geocities.com