Is my platy pregnant

Holm44

New Fish
Jun 12, 2012
photo-2.jpg I Just got my 10 gallon tank started today and bought three platies 2 male and 1 female, once I came home and took a look at the female she looked as though she might be pregnant, considering this is my first time owning platies, could someone tell me if they think she is pregnant.
Thanks*twirlysmi
Tara

Last edited:

Thyra

Superstar Fish
Jun 2, 2010
Yelm, WA
She certainly looks PG. Just a suggestion - the best ratio is at least two females per male not the other way around. The males will harass the on female. You also have to consider the tanks size - 6 platys in a 10g will be a pretty full house and you will have fry -some will survive.

Holm44

New Fish
Jun 12, 2012
She certainly looks PG. Just a suggestion - the best ratio is at least two females per male not the other way around. The males will harass the on female. You also have to consider the tanks size - 6 platys in a 10g will be a pretty full house and you will have fry -some will survive.
Thanks so much for the advice! About the ratio .. I was supposed to get two females and one male .. but I didn't notice that they gave me two males on accident until i brought them home, should i get an additional female or take one of the males back to my LFS the exchange for a female? I was concerned about her being pregnant considering i just started my tank yesterday so i haven't even had the water established for a good 6 weeks yet

KcMopar

Superstar Fish
Most important is to watch the ammonia level and keep the water changed so you dont kill the fish. Your ammonia is going to spike and this will kill the fish if you are not doing water changes every day or every other at minimum. This is all part of the nitrogen cycle that tanks go through on a continuous cycle but the first start-up of the cycle will kill fish.

Thyra

Superstar Fish
Jun 2, 2010
Yelm, WA