I don't know when to separate my Molly

Feb 28, 2012
I have four mollies, One female Dalmatian, a male Black molly, a male silver lyretail and a female golden lyretail. I know the golden female is at LEAST 20 days pregnant. She has started hanging around the bottom of the tank under plants so I'm wondering if I should separate her soon if I want to keep the fry.

I'm also concerned because my male Silver Lyretail (Gandalf) I discovered yesterday has ick and he doesn't seem to be dong well. :( I'm treating the tank with medicine, raised the temperature a bit and added a bit more salt but he isn't swimming well and doesn't look good. I'm sad may lose him, but I'm doing everything I can to save him.

I'm more worried about the fry being born in a tank with ick. I have another tank to move them to after they are born but I don't want to put the mom in there since the tank she's currently in has ick.

I'm new to owning fish, these four are my first ever, so any advice would be greatly appreciated. :)

Thyra

Superstar Fish
Jun 2, 2010
Yelm, WA