Hey

Oct 22, 2002
www.expage.com
Hey I'm Katie and I'm totally new at this whole aquarium thing. My friend (known as Pooky125 here) has gotten me obsessed with this! I fell in love with her 12 gallon eclipse tank I spent half an hour just staring at it. So now I've picked out a 20 gallon that I love and am hoping to purchase soon. Right now I have a two gallon hex with an UGF (which is a pain to clean) that has two African dwarf frogs in it. Everyone here has been unbelievably helpful, I print out everyone's responses to my questions and use them for future referance. Thanks so much! I have one quick question, when i start a new 20 gallon tank is it a wise decision to use the fishless cycle or to just start adding fish every couple weeks? Thanks

~*Katie*~

colesea

Superstar Fish
Oct 22, 2002
NY USA
Seeing as how you are now so well educated as to the benefits/set-backs of both the fishless and fish-using methods to cycling a tank from all the great information you've recieved from this site and others, as well as all the wonderful books you've read, I feel the first thing you can do for yourself as a responsible aquarist and weight all the options to come to the conclusion that is right for you. That's the best way to ensure you enjoy -your- fishtank, and not somebody else's dictated advice <G>.
~~Colesea

A

Atlantic Fish

Hey, always nice to see new faces.
Do what you want to do. I have set up..at least 10 tanks and have only let them cycle without fish for about a week (until all my levels are good).  My water here is really good so I dont have much trouble getting them spot on.  As long as all you levels test fine then why wait? But thats only my opionion and im sure some people will disagree, but hey it would be no fun here if we didnt disagree.
Johnmac *celebratesmiley*

colesea

Superstar Fish
Oct 22, 2002
NY USA
Dictating...of course not. Strenuously expressing your opinion maybe, but not dictating  :)