Help with CO2

Flbrylas

Small Fish
Mar 31, 2012
I recently purchased a 75 gallon and I am starting to get everything ready. I have bought a 216 watt lighting system for the tank. When reading forums online I read that a lot of light increases plant growth but also increase algea. I am new to CO2 systems and know very little about them. I read that if you have too much lighting you have to have a CO2 system to prevent algea from growing and at the same time it will increase you plnat growth. Is this true and what CO2 system would be good enough for a semi planted to heavy planted 75 gallon aqurium.

exhumed07

Superstar Fish
Apr 30, 2006
Illinois
it's accually a combination of light, nutrients, and co2. i'm kinda new to plants right now and have just set up a dirt tank and seeing how that goes. from my understanding with a dirt tank you only need plants, water, dirt, and about 1 watt per gallon for lighting and thats pretty much it. youtube has alot of videos about it.

Flbrylas

Small Fish
Mar 31, 2012
I agree with you on that but I over due everything. I like to have open options. With over 2.8 wpg, substrate and CO2 system I can pretty much stick any plant in my tank. The problem is I don't understand what CO2 system I need. Also I am a huge anti Algae freak and on my 75 gallon I am making it a priority to not have any algae eating. I know weird but I am going to Aquascape my 75 gallon and don't want Plecos eat wood and SAE and Ottos tend to nibble at certain plants sometimes.

exhumed07

Superstar Fish
Apr 30, 2006
Illinois