Help my neon tetra that had ick has now died

Mar 3, 2016
Laguna Niguel, CA
My aquarium is falling apart.
I am a beginner at keeping an aquarium. I started off with two goldfish that I won at the fair, which turned into one goldfish because the other died because the tank was too small. Last month the goldfish started getting aggressive because the tank was too small. Go to the pets store invest in an awesome 10 gallon tank with everything that I need for one gold fish, couple hours later the goldfish died. After much research I realized I need to cycle my tank. Do extensive research on how to take care of my tank so that my fish don't die. I now have an african dwarf frog, a sucker fish, and six neon tetra. I keep up with regular water checks since I am still cycling my tank and everything has been fine, and also do regular 25% water changes. I put in API quick start when needed and dechlorinator.

I have had these fish for almost a month. I had a problem with the neon tetra getting stuck in the filter, so I covered it with plants. Yesterday one of my tetra got stuck in the filter and died. I also noticed that my other neon tetra has ICK. I went out and got API liquid super ICK cure. Since I have a frog I have only been putting half the recommended amount. It says treat the water every 48 hours but since I did half the treatment, I did half yesterday and waited 24 hours and did another half a treatment. A couple hours after I treated the tank the tetra with ICK died. I did remove the carbon filter. So what do I do now? Do I keep treating the water? I only have 4 tetra now, and I know that they are a schooling fish. Should I go get more fish because I don't want them do die because they aren't "schooling."

arcab4

The Big Fish
The Big Fish
Oct 22, 2002
Sunny Southern California
welcome to MFT! here's a few comments about your tank