hello new and need some help

Lbv82

Small Fish
Feb 5, 2013
hey guys and girls im new to having a tank but learning as much as i can in my free time
2 weeks ago i got a 10 gallon cycled it and drops
this week a buddy asked if i would like to trade my 10 for his 60 he has a baby on the way and needs room so im going to take it right now i have
1 bala shark
2 glass fish
2 Dalmatian mollies
1 ballon mollie
3 guppies 1male 2 female
so i dont know how to make the move from the small to large tank any tips thanks all

exhumed07

Superstar Fish
Apr 30, 2006
Illinois
one thing i can suggest is to keep some of the substrate and decorations in the 10 gallon to place into the new 60 gallon to seed the tank with bacteria. it will help with the new cycle for that tank. wont eliminate the cycle but help it from being so dramatic. obviously all those fish will be fine in that tank and u will be able to add alot more. i'm a fan of larger tanks with a large school of neons or guppies. lots of color and lots of flash. thats my little suggestion :)

FishDad

Superstar Fish
Mar 4, 2012
Cleveland
I would return that bala shark though. They get enormous. Pet stores shouldn't sell them. No fault of your own, just know you can't trut chains to give you the right fish for you tank.

Lbv82

Small Fish
Feb 5, 2013
Yep so I woke up to a dead bala shark kinda sad ammonia kinda high ...so this is the main question if any one can help when I move to the 60 what's the best way to cycle it i might have to do it with the fish I already have in is that ok

Thyra

Superstar Fish
Jun 2, 2010
Yelm, WA
Welcome to the forum! I just want to add that there is no such thing as the ammonia being "kinda high" - any ammonia over zero is considered high. Until you get a the larger tank you are going to have to do daily water changes of probably 75% - whatever it takes to get the ammonia and nitrites to zero.

Lbv82

Small Fish
Feb 5, 2013