Hello from South Australia!

Aug 7, 2012
Hi everyone.

I've just been given a 90L tank from my work so I can 'learn more about fishkeeping' as I work in the office of a large national pet shop. I currently don't have any fish in it as it's cycling but hopefully within the next week or so I will (fingers crossed)! I do have a male betta as well in a smaller tank who is a bit sick at the moment, so hoping he will pull through.

I am VERY new to fish keeping and my betta is the first fish I have ever had (at age 27) and I got him around 3-4 months ago.

I am very keen to learn from all the experienced fishkeepers out there and look forward to chatting with some of you soon!

Kate :)

CAPSLOCK

Elite Fish
Jul 19, 2004
Cape Cod
Hello!

Kudos for cycling without fish in the tank.

Hopefully, since it seems like you are reading stuff and doing this right, you'll be able to have one of those well thought out, enviable tanks :)

Aug 7, 2012
Hi all, and thanks for the warm welcome!

I have been feeding the tank last week to get the ammonia up and now that it has I've now stopped doing so. I've had my tank running for just over 2 weeks now with no fish in it (driving me crazy - I just want to get some!), but tomorrow looks as though it might be the day that I can bring some babies home! :D :D I am still VERY new to all of this and am so fortunate that there are so many great staff members at my work that have helped me sooo much in setting up this tank.

I have been suggested Balloon Mollies as a first fish as they are quite hardy, does anyone disagree? I wanted to eventually have a fighter, guppies and maybe neon tetras in the same tank. What do you think?

Also, on another note my fighter fish passed away overnight :( Very sad as I wanted to transfer him to a bigger, warmer tank.

Thyra

Superstar Fish
Jun 2, 2010
Yelm, WA