guppy's & platy's friend or foe?

JoJo

New Fish
Oct 22, 2008
Oregon
My daughter recently purchased 3 guppy males, 1 platy female and 1 platy male. Well, last night she found the female dead and half eaten and now the guppy's have decided they don't like the male platy either and are chasing him. I have no experience with guppies, so I thought I would ask here to see if you all have any suggestions. She will remove the single male platy and put him in a little gallon size tank with an undergravel filter for now.

My thought was that she should either buy a 2.5 gallon tank from Walmart (about $25) and put the 3 male guppies into that if they harrass any of her other fish, or move the platy male into the 1 gallon tank to give her time to figure this out. Her biggest issue is that she will be leaving for about a week over Christmas break and really doesn't know anyone she can have take care of her fish and it will be expensive to have to have 3 fish feeders. BTW, she has 2 zebra danios, 2 albino cory's, 3 male guppy's, 1 male platy in a 10 gallon tank. She has one male betta and an albino cory in a 2.5 gallon tank and she has a one gallon tank that is empty.

Sigh, we thought we had this problem licked when we decided she was ready to put her betta into a 10 gallon tank rather than the 1 gallon tank. *BOUNCINGS We bought her all the supplies including a heater and everything for her birthday. Then her betta got sick*SICK*, so we got her a little 2.5 gallon tank for the betta and his pet cory, so he could still have more space. Then she called after buying her fish for the 10 gallon tank and told us she had one female platy and all those male guppy's :eek: and we new the fun had just started! Any advice would be greatly appreciated.....