Fish Outside

I want to set up a 10g outside for maybe Mosqitofish or White clouds but recently its been getting in the low 40's here. I was wondering if the white clouds would survive in this cold of water. I will have a heater on the tank but I doubt it would do much for the tank.I plan on having the tank sealed up on top just in case my neighbors cat wants in. Its also going to be planted with some Coldwater species of plants. If the White clouds cant survive this where would I be able to find mosqitofish.

Dino

Large Fish
Mar 3, 2007
90 degrees north
I have kept white cloud minnows outside once the water temperature stays above 50F.
I used to take a lot of fish outside during the summer.
Being exposed to sunlight and live food, generally makes the fish's color improve.
Most species also spawn like mad, when placed outside.

James, I have mosquito fish.
I keep them outside here all year long.
I am willing to ship.
Dino

Fuzz16 said:
why set up a tank outside?
I am not technically allowed aquariums in the apartment so the next best thing is to do a coldwater Planted tank.

IDunnoWhy said:
I was going to ask the exact same thing.

But I guess if I lived in a warmer climate, it might be cool to have a aquarium out in the screen porch.
Yeah, It just gets really cold here t night until summer.

Dino said:
I have kept white cloud minnows outside once the water temperature stays above 50F.
I used to take a lot of fish outside during the summer.
Being exposed to sunlight and live food, generally makes the fish's color improve.
Most species also spawn like mad, when placed outside.

James, I have mosquito fish.
I keep them outside here all year long.
I am willing to ship.
Dino
Pming you!

VirgoWolf

Superstar Fish
Feb 16, 2006
Michigan
Do a whiskey Barrel pond... seems more logical than having a glass tank outside. They sell kits pretty cheap or you can piece it together yourself and do some DIY to make it cheaper.

Fuzz16 said: