Crab Questions

BVDs

New Fish
Jan 24, 2006
Hello. I am new to having a crab.. and I have a few questions.

I heard that crabs molt. How do I know when they are going to molt?

My crab stopped moving today and is upsidedown. He is still alive because he moves every now and then. Does this mean he is dying or is this part of Molting?

If he is molting how long will it take?

I have fish in my tank also.. and I suspect he is going to be molting.. he will move right? He won't get eaten will he?

I also have another crab. She won't hurt him while he molts will she?

Thank you so much,
I might have more questions in the future.

~BVDs

BVDs

New Fish
Jan 24, 2006
Its a freashwater crab. I can't remember what kind. It looks like a fiddler crab but it is brown and has a small claw. The tank is 2 1/2 gallons and is occupied with a betta, a guppy and a small fantail goldfish. I had it for a month.

TLM4x4

Large Fish
Jul 21, 2005
southern oregon coast
Yes they DO molt, and they do kinda act strange when they do...I had one for awhile and mine did the same thing meaning it laying on its side or upside down barely moving thinking the poor thing was dead! What happens is they completely shed their shell!! legs and all!!! It is pretty trippy looking so if you think you have THREE crabs in there look closer cuz its probably the "old" shell laying there. As they grow they have to shed their shells to continue to grow so dont worry when you see that happen. I doubt your other crab will hurt it so just watch as an amazing thing happens!!!!

nobody

Large Fish
Sep 26, 2005
Utah
BVDs said:

My crab stopped moving today and is upsidedown. He is still alive because he moves every now and then. Does this mean he is dying or is this part of Molting?

I have fish in my tank also.. and I suspect he is going to be molting.. he will move right? He won't get eaten will he?

~BVDs