Correct lighting ?

Jun 19, 2013
I have a marineland 55 gallon tank its 48x12x21. I newly aquired a 48" 2 tube fluorescent 39 watts each 6500k each, is this a good setup for growing live plants?

CAPSLOCK

Elite Fish
Jul 19, 2004
Cape Cod
That light should do okay for lower light plants I would think (though I'm not that experienced). Stuff like java fern is hardy and will grow under lower light conditions; there are other good low light plants as well.

Feb 27, 2009
55 gallon tanks are hard to balance with good light for medium or higher growing lights, due to their depth. The light you mention having will be ok for low-light plants as mentioned and including crypts and mosses too.

FreshyFresh

Superstar Fish
Jan 11, 2013
East Aurora, NY
Sounds like a twin tube T8 fluorescent. I believe T5 fixtures (skinnier tubes) are 55w per tube. Like said, java fern, anubias, etc. would probably be great with your ~78watts total. A T5 fixture would be ~110w total.

FWIW, I've got a twin-tube 48" T5 on my 55. It's a cheapy Odyssea brand, $59 shipped, bulbs included. My water sprite and wisteria are taking over the tank, but like OC says, it's tough to get a good light/nutrient balance in a 55. I struggle a bit w/ algae.

FWIW, I just have a cheap gravel substrate and have had luck with my rooted plants rooting like mad. I'm sure the high dollar 'super plant duty' substrates are great, but I question if they're a necessity or not.

Last edited:

exhumed07

Superstar Fish
Apr 30, 2006
Illinois