Best way to keep fry

RyanML

Small Fish
Aug 18, 2010
hey.

i currently have quite a few fish in my tank, more than i probably should have but everyone is getting along and have no problems with them or water conditions, but every time my fish get pregnant i always miss it and come home to a thin fish with no fry in the tank, what would be the best way to preserve the fry? i noted the date when my platy had fry last time, so should i put her in a breeder net close to the 3 week mark? i would love it if i could keep a couple of fry that ive bred myself but i cant seem to get any lol.

any help would be greatly appreciated.

ryanoh

Large Fish
Mar 22, 2010
My first fry was a total accident. One survived long enough by hiding somewhere in the tank to grow large enough not to be eaten. I went out and got a breeding net with a floating plastic plant in it and started to watch my platies more closely to look for signs they were about to give birth. I'm not very good at it because the most I've ever been able to keep alive at once it five, and that was because I left the mother in the net with the fry too long and she ate most of them. I've only had one live to be fully grown because with the five the ned came loose from the side and the small fish got out, or the big fish got in. Either way, none of them made it. I do, however, have to fry currently in my net that I just noticed swimming around the tank one day, and I should be able to keep them.