API Leaf Zone

Aug 16, 2009
SW Pennsylvania
I went to Petsmart and they didn't have Excel so I got API Leaf Zone. I've never used fertilizer before, so I have several noob questions.
1.) Do you have any experience with Leaf Zone vs. Excel?
2.) The bottle says to dose 5 mL per 10 gallons. Are doses usually for a moderately planted tank or for any type of tank? I cut the dose in half since I only have one plant in my 29 gallon. Is this okay?
3.) I know that some aquatic soils will retain dosed nutrients. Will sand retain any nutrients, whether short term or long term?
4.) How long will it be before I see results?

I'm doing a little bit of experiment with my tank. I'm attempting to rid it of algae and at the same time create an environment for plants. Root tabs, better lighting, and DIY CO2 will come later. I'd just like to see how fertilizing goes. I understand that sometimes simply fertilizer will not do too much and a combination is needed.

Newman

Elite Fish
Sep 22, 2009
Northern NJ
The dosage in the directions on the bottle is way more that you personally need. they assume your aquarium is CHOCK FULL of plants and so they suggest that dosage. I say 1/4 of that is enough for one plant =/

Feb 27, 2009
1.) Do you have any experience with Leaf Zone vs. Excel?
Leaf Zone is a fertilizer that supplies iron and potassium via transport in the leaves of plants. Excel is a carbon source. All plants need all three elements to grow.

2.) The bottle says to dose 5 mL per 10 gallons. Are doses usually for a moderately planted tank or for any type of tank? I cut the dose in half since I only have one plant in my 29 gallon. Is this okay?
If this is the sword plant, it will benefit more from a root tab fertilizer as they mainly feed from their roots.