another annoying newbie question(s)

Oct 22, 2002
Ive been raising freshwater fish for many years and I now think Im ready to enter into saltwater, except it seems VERY daunting, any info pertaining would be greatly appreciated. I want to use a spare 29g tank for my first saltwater setup. Ive read over many FAQs on saltwater and it is very confusing. Exactly what equipment do I need powerhead, protien skimmer, ect. and what kind of fish would be good for a 29g?

fishboy

Superstar Fish
Oct 22, 2002
Cincinnati, Ohio
Yes, you are correct on the equipment part..........only that you will need live rock ;D

Good fish for 29 gal would be like clowns, damsels, an maybe some Pygmy angels would work here is a compatiblity chart i found at http://www.thepetstop.com/fish_shop/chart.html and a place to buy some of the things you will need such as protein skimmers, filter,heater,live rock,ect. ;D

HTH ;D

GOOD LUCK
Daniel ;D

Get a good book too.  You'll need to learn about things like specific gravity.  I can suggest a good skimmer for a tank that size... the CPR BakPak.  I had one, and it worked great.

You'll need some live rock/sand too.  Pretty expensive, 4 - 5 bucks a pound for the rock!  SW is expensive, and frustrating, but if you are patient (as I wasn't) you can have a BEAUTIFUL tank.

There's others here who could help you alot more than I can.

dattack

Large Fish
Oct 22, 2002
For Reef setup